Written Reflection; Part Five

Part Five has actually been really exciting for me which I didn’t think I would. Here I have been able to work around with materials & systems I like and tried to introduce. But here I had more free reign!
I have learned how to read the questions from OCA – they are all rather wordy for a reason I can’t really understand. Moreover, as there isn’t much contact and given that I wasn’t able to reach out for help I have felt a little ‘lost at sea’.
I have however found a new belief in myself & my work which I think has really aided my work throughout Part 5.

I was really pleased with my experimentation in Part Five. I feel I have been able to ‘let go’ a little bit more. Also I started out by not just working in a sketch book but moving onto larger loose sheets. This is something that I found rather difficult but now I am not so afraid. IMG_9979
Working with free machine embroidery is something I really enjoy & have confidence in. I was able to develop this by using two parts of water soluble fabric to encase florals – this was something I haven’t tried before but was able to achieve some great results. Gypsophila was the main flower I used in this. After some trial & error it became obvious that this was the best to use for this. It’s rather stable & can be stitched over with great ease.

I was happy with the colour pallet I settled on. I feel that I was getting carried away with colour & not able to harness things in, but in limiting myself to tone I think it was rather affective.

It was great pushing things further with natural materials, however I did have some issues with the Tulip leaves.

They were fantastic to print on with the Lino cuts, but after some time they did slightly wilt which was a shame as they looked great to start off with. I did again encase them in water soluble fabric & free machine embroidered over them which did add some great stability, however I personally feel the piece was rather messy. Moreover the print did come off once I rinsed it which was a shame.

Again with the Tulip leaves, I tried to create a yarn sample – but this was not as great as I thought it would be. You couldn’t see the leaves underneath at all but it was stable.

I feel my strengths are placement, photography along with hand & machine embroidery. I believe these were all rather obvious but I feel I have been able to really push myself and show my skills.

Image displacement isn’t something I really work with – even in my photography I do not edit anything. But in these exercises, I was able to physically change things – cut images, replace, change & distort all by hand.

I would like to look over my written reflection more. I find there is not too much guidance on this, and when I was at London College of Fashion there was not this much needed as we had set tutorial time to talk things over.

I am actually hoping to work in production development & garment technology, so I am am going to look over the next options to see what would be most suitable.

 

Leave a comment